Hello Lover!

It’s Valentine’s Day, the day of love, romance and chocolate!!! It’s also my parent’s anniversary. Yes, they got married on Valentine’s Day 35 years ago, super cute!

I am a big romantic and am in love with the idea of love.  I believe we all have one soul mate/true love/other half and that once you find that person, you are complete. I read a story in Plato’s Symposium (I’m a big ancient mythology fan) and it explains soul mates perfectly. In the Symposium, Aristophanes gives a speech at a dinner party, about how humans were completely different beings in the earlier times. They were two bodies adjoined back to back with four legs and four arms and were powerful enough that the Greek Gods felt threatened by them. Zeus decided to separate these beings in half to punish them. Once separated, the beings longed to be with their other halves and  were miserable and would not eat, drink or sleep. They searched all over and when they finally found them they wrapped themselves around each other to get as close as possible and felt a joy like no other. I truly believe that once you have found that other person, you experience life like never before. You are loved unconditionally and wholly. [I’ve summarized the speech from memory, but if you would like to read the entire thing, check out Plato’s Symposium.]

Love is the name for our pursuit of wholeness, for our desire to be complete.” – Plato

oho.png

I’m not a big Valentine’s Day person because love should be celebrated everyday. I literally say I love you like every five minutes, haha I know, I’m a sap, but I truly do love him. We’ve been together for almost 11 years and married for 5½ years. He’s my best friend, my rock, my biggest motivator and supporter, my partner in crime and thunder buddy for life! I honestly couldn’t imagine my life without Hubster. 💕

16602424_10154301437071099_5925893673023395387_o

We don’t really do much for Valentine’s Day but I do drag him to the movies every year. He hates going to the movies, but will suck it up just for today. Last year we saw Fifty Shades of Grey, so this year it only made sense to go see Fifty Shades Darker [side note: I did read the books and I did enjoy them. I mean it was kind of like a fairy tale, well a naughty fairy tale. 😉  Yeah, I totally just confessed to the world that I enjoyed the series..GREAT!]. The movie was awesome (screw you haters!) and we even got a little preview for Fifty Shades Freed. The only thing that drove me crazy was the people in the movie theatre. First of, AVX allows you to book your seats in advance, so why must you pick the seats right beside me when majority of the theatre is empty?! (we went to an earlier show) Second, if you want to have a damn conversation while watching a movie, watch it at home! Why must you talk during the entire movie? I am not one to sit there quietly when people do this and had to shut that shit down. Third, if you’re not mature enough to watch people have sex in movies, then don’t watch them. This one couple giggled the entire time like little children learning about sex for the first time! GROW UP PEOPLE! Ok, rant over.

I hope you all had an amazing Valentine’s Day with your loved ones. Can’t wait for all the chocolate to go on sale tomorrow…woohoo!

XOXO Jazkirn

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

